The Lumber Room

"Consign them to dust and damp by way of preserving them"

Funny warnings and signs

leave a comment »

I shouldn’t have read this Slashdot article. I did, and a couple of hours of my life are irrevocably gone. As usual.
MLAW, the Michigan Lawsuit Abuse Watch, has for a long time now been collecting silly lawsuits and stupid warning labels, as in this list here. (“Do not eat toner”, “Shin pads cannot protect any part of the body they do not cover”, etc.) I also remember wasting time many years ago at dumbwarnings.com, who (IIRC) are related somehow to the book Wearing of This Garment Does Not Enable You to Fly.
Given the nature of Slashdot, and my nature, I was soon looking at creative pictures of warnings (also here), outright bizarre warnings, and, eventually, just funny signs in general. I remembered finding a very comprehensive collection about a year ago, so I found it again: Start here and keep clicking on next. There are 180, so it will take quite some time. I love the totally arbitrary Total 4663 sign. (BTW, I have it on Snopes’s authority that at least this one is real, and a few others as well.) There’s also Child Bear: try guessing what that is supposed to be without reading the Hindi!

Written by S

Sun, 2007-01-07 at 15:03:59

Posted in funny

Leave a Reply

