The Lumber Room

"Consign them to dust and damp by way of preserving them"

Firefox: Subscribing to feeds using Google Reader

with 2 comments

If I select a feed URL (or “live bookmark” as Firefox likes to call it), and choose to “subscribe to this feed using: Google”, I am taken to a Google page that always shows two options, “Add to Google homepage” and “Add to Google Reader”. Is there a way of directly going to Google Reader each time?

Yes: Auto add to Google Reader, a Greasemonkey script.

It probably works; but I’m using an alpha release of Firefox 3 (“Gran Paradiso”), and Greasemonkey doesn’t work for me so I can’t be sure.

Written by S

Tue, 2007-11-13 at 14:42:16 +05:30

Posted in compknow

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh, copy-paste is about the same amount of effort as two clicks; I want to be able to click on a feed URI just once :-)
    I don’t recall Greasemonkey slowing Firefox down, actually. Perhaps you tried it before the first time I did.

    shreevatsa

    Tue, 2007-11-13 at 18:25:38 +05:30

  2. My Google Reader is kind of well organized, so I just copy paste the RSS link and assign it the appropriate folders/tags.

    I generally like the idea of Greasemonkey but the last time I tried it, it slowed firefox quite a bit. Has it improved?

    anshul

    Tue, 2007-11-13 at 15:39:13 +05:30


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers